40 Days (Book 12)-Prayers and Devotions on the Nature and Ministry of the Holy Spirit: A Review

Forty

This is # 12 in Dennis Smith’s popular and inspiring series of “40 Days…”  on the important subject of the Nature and Ministry of the Holy Spirit.

A recommended way to use these “40 Days” books is in a small group setting. They can also be studied by oneself individually. At the end of each day’s reading is a section for Personal Reflection and Discussion.

It is also the plan of the author that during the 40 days that one is studying the book, they use the opportunity to pray for 5 different people that you want to lead to a closer walk with Jesus.

I found this book very inspiring and encouraging as to what the Holy Spirit wants to do in our lives and that the Holy Spirit has been promised to us if we pray in faith for Him to come into our lives.

This book is the twelfth in the series of the 40 Days devotionals. As with the first eleven books, this devotional is designed to prepare God’s church for Christ’s second coming as well as help His people reach out to others in preparation for that glorious event. This preparation begins with church members who are willing to commit to forty days of prayer and devotional study to develop a closer personal relationship with Jesus Christ and to reach out to five individuals whom the Lord has convicted them to pray for every day.

I would like to encourage people to be part of a group as mentioned above but if for some reason that does not work out or you are not ready for that read the book anyway.

The blessing of these devotionals can bless one person, a small group, or a vast congregation.

If all were willing, all would be filled with the Holy Spirit.

Since this is the means by which we are to receive power, why do we not hunger and thirst for the gift of the Spirit? Why do we not talk of it, pray for it, and preach concerning it? The Lord is more willing to give the Holy Spirit to those who serve Him than parents are to give good gifts to their children. For the daily Baptism of the Spirit every worker should offer his petition to God. Companies of Christian workers should gather to ask for special help, for heavenly wisdom, that they may know how to plan and execute wisely, especially should they pray, that God will baptize His chosen ambassadors in mission fields with a rich measure of His Spirit. The presence of the Spirit with God’s workers will give the proclamation of truth a power that not all the honor of glory of the world could give. Acts of the Apostles 50, 51.

For more information about # 12 of this “40 Days” series, please click here.

Published by Paul

Born March 14,1950- Swedish Hospital- Seattle, Washington, I was third child in a family that would eventually have 8 Children, as follows listed in order of oldest to youngest: Francie, David, me, Ruthie, Jonathan, Lawrence, Margi and Shirley Jean* Sadly, Ruthie and Shirley Jean are now deceased. I am married to my dear wife Marthanne and the two of us tied the knot on April 4,1982. Marthanne has been and continues to be the highlight in my life ever since. I can trace my love of reading books to my childhood and credit my parents who read books to us and encouraged a love for reading in all of us kids. When I was in 2nd or 3rd Grade, the school I attended had kids in grades 1-4 in one room and along the back wall of the room was a long row of books (our library) close to 150 different titles. That year I read every book in my room’s “library”. Just before I turned 22 in 1972 I came to visit some friends in Maryland. My friend Brent had just become the manager of a Christian book store in Columbia Maryland and he invited me to work with him. I accepted the job and in 2017 retired from a 45-year career in the same bookstore and organization. Reading books, selling books, meeting many amazing customers, and meeting interesting and delightful authors was an enriching experience I will always cherish. One of the things that we did at the bookstore was have author events where the author would come to the store and our customers could meet the authors. Several of the authors that were special highlights to me during my time at the bookstore include, Rosa Parks, Ben Carson, Barry Black, H.M.S Richards, Willie Jolley, Mark Batterson, Ted Wilson, C.D. Brooks and dozens more. It was because of this passion I have of reading books, and my lifelong experience being around books and meeting these marvelous authors that prompted me to start this blog. I enjoy reading and posting my reviews of these books and I hope you find them as interesting and spiritually fulfilling as I do.

Leave a comment