Stormy Seas-Understanding God in the Midst of Life’s Tempests: A Review

Stormy

Trouble can come from any direction and at any moment. When it hits, it hurts. It can leave us shocked and surprised. When we cry out to God and He doesn’t respond when and how we hope, we may demand. “Why” and insist on a full report to justify our pain. Yet God rarely gives a complete answer

When the storms of life rage around you and you wonder who and where God is, you can trust the Good Shepherd. Through the experiences of Moses, Joseph, Daniel, Jesus and others, you will:

Learn God’s promises about your future

Find peace even without answers

Overcome bitterness, anger, and hurt

Understand that God is in the boat with you

Find blessings in life’s detours

It you want to understand who God is and where He is in tragedy and affliction, Stormy Seas can help. Grab the Savior’s outstretched hand and keep your eyes on Him

Any time in this crazy world one can feel like they just do not understand why all these things are happening to them. But for many people the COVID 19 pandemic really increased these feelings and questions. Author Wendy Armfield has done a major biblical study to help her to understand God more fully during Life’s perils.

In Stormy Seas she shares the lessons she learned. I really like how she draws lessons from the stories of numerous people in the Bible. At least for me often it is more understandable what the Bible is teaching when it is tied into the biblical experiences of people in the Bible.

For more information about this book click here. You can order on line or visit your favorite book store to purchase a copy.

Published by Paul

Born March 14,1950- Swedish Hospital- Seattle, Washington, I was third child in a family that would eventually have 8 Children, as follows listed in order of oldest to youngest: Francie, David, me, Ruthie, Jonathan, Lawrence, Margi and Shirley Jean* Sadly, Ruthie and Shirley Jean are now deceased. I am married to my dear wife Marthanne and the two of us tied the knot on April 4,1982. Marthanne has been and continues to be the highlight in my life ever since. I can trace my love of reading books to my childhood and credit my parents who read books to us and encouraged a love for reading in all of us kids. When I was in 2nd or 3rd Grade, the school I attended had kids in grades 1-4 in one room and along the back wall of the room was a long row of books (our library) close to 150 different titles. That year I read every book in my room’s “library”. Just before I turned 22 in 1972 I came to visit some friends in Maryland. My friend Brent had just become the manager of a Christian book store in Columbia Maryland and he invited me to work with him. I accepted the job and in 2017 retired from a 45-year career in the same bookstore and organization. Reading books, selling books, meeting many amazing customers, and meeting interesting and delightful authors was an enriching experience I will always cherish. One of the things that we did at the bookstore was have author events where the author would come to the store and our customers could meet the authors. Several of the authors that were special highlights to me during my time at the bookstore include, Rosa Parks, Ben Carson, Barry Black, H.M.S Richards, Willie Jolley, Mark Batterson, Ted Wilson, C.D. Brooks and dozens more. It was because of this passion I have of reading books, and my lifelong experience being around books and meeting these marvelous authors that prompted me to start this blog. I enjoy reading and posting my reviews of these books and I hope you find them as interesting and spiritually fulfilling as I do.

Leave a comment